Diamond Guide

Shop Natural Diamonds

About Natural Diamonds

Radiance, Gorgeous, Treasured – Know about your diamond shape and 4c’s.

Search Diamonds

What Are Natural Diamonds?

Diamonds belong to the family minerals, well known as the hardest material found on the earth naturally. The diamonds are the only stones that are made of a single element, which is carbon. Diamonds were formed 150km – 200km deep below the earth’s crust in the melted rock of the mantle. The process started with Carbon molecules being compressed under high pressure of 45 to 60 kilo bar while undergoing intense heat of 900 degrees to 1300 degrees. These are formed in the earth’s crust under high circumstances of temperature and pressure. Its distinctive chemical composition and configuration created it a truly unusual gemstone.

What Are Fancy Colored Diamonds?

Colored diamonds are diamonds that have a noticeable body color when viewed in a face-up position. Brown and yellow are the most common colors in natural coloured diamonds. Diamonds with natural pink, blue, orange, green, red, and violet body colors are extremely rare. Out of 100,000 diamonds, only a few will have one of the extremely rare colors. The color can have any intensity between "very light" and "vivid". To be considered a "colored diamond" the color must be noticeable when the diamond is in the face-up position. Black, gray, and white diamonds are also possible. The price of a colored diamond depends on more than its hue. Color saturation and the uniformity of color across the face of the gem are also important. Those with a pure hue are generally more desirable than those with modifying colors.

If you have any finance questions please call us at 1-800-282-2242 or Email us at [email protected]

Diamond Ratings FAQs

The best diamond ratings are subjective to the person wearing the piece of jewelry. For example, while a diamond rating chart might rank a J-grade color diamond as less valuable than a D-grade, some find that they prefer the hint of color.

Diamonds are graded on their cut, clarity, and color. Cut is graded based on a 6-step scale from Ideal to Poor. The clarity is graded on a 10-step scale from Flawless to Inclusions 2. Color is graded on GIA’s D-to-Z system. The cut grade is the most important for overall beauty.

The 4 Cs of diamonds refer to characteristics that maximize the beauty of a diamond. The 4 Cs are cut, color, clarity, and carat.

A diamond certification, or diamond report, is provided by an independent gemology lab that offers an objective perspective on a diamond’s unique characteristics.

A diamond certificate provides proof that a diamond was graded with an expert opinion on the quality of the diamond.

Yes, all Bluehira diamonds are certified by the world’s leading gem grading labs including GIA, IGI, HRD, and GCAL.

Diamond Buying Guide FAQs

Our diamonds represent the highest-graded stones available. These diamonds feature unparalleled brilliance.

Cut is the most important characteristic of the 4Cs. Cut is responsible for the diamond’s brilliance. A symmetrical, proportionate diamond cut will bring the most sparkle.

Clarity is believed to be the least important of the four Cs. This is because many imperfections are difficult to see with the naked eye.

The higher quality a diamond is, the more expensive it will be. Each stone is unique and many less-than-perfect grades in some of the 4 Cs are difficult to see with the naked eye. For example, stones with a lower clarity score may still look eye-clean. Because of the uniqueness of diamonds, it’s possible to choose a stone with lower scoring elements of the 4Cs and still enjoy a breathtakingly beautiful diamond.